The Story of Art and the Young People

Hello there, you wonderful people who tirelessly support such a non person such as myself. Give yourselves a large pat on the back. 

This week I would like to talk to you about art in schools. It’s a big issue with the government trying to remove it from A-levels, which makes no sense whatsoever.

But my main bug bear came from a conversation I had with one of my friends who told me that Wayne Coyne, of The Flaming Lips, was answering questions on Reddit and one of the questions was what his opinion was on a lack of art and music in high schools and his response was that schools should not be responsible for art & music in schools and that it is down to the parents to provide you with all the art & music you need.

Now this caused me a major headache, mainly because I used to think Wayne Coyne was pretty cool, as did my friend, but now I think a lot less of him. I thought he would be into arts for all people and support it being in schools but no, not in the slightest.

Now this is all my opinion, so feel free to comment on it and we will open up some sort of debate. I am going to discuss what I think the merits of having art & music in schools and the lack of merit of leaving it down to the parents. Here it goes:

Kids most definitely need art & music in schools in order to provide variety to a monotony of subjects that could lead to extreme boredom and bad behaviour. Now, I ain’t no fancy child psychologist but I figure it’s pretty basic knowledge that children get bored with a lack of variety. Having a subject like art at school definitely made me less bored and less likely to take the piss out of the teachers. That and music were the two subjects I looked forward to the most as I never got on with science, was good at maths but was indifferent to it unless we were playing who shot the sheriff. English was an enjoyable experience for me because I was able to write stories and create something using my imagination. If it wasn’t for the ability to draw pictures such as: the sun with sunglasses on because somehow despite being brighter and hotter than anything else, it struggled with light sources outside of itself (kid logic is the best). Just think of someone stifling that enjoyment and you would have a number of unhappy young people.

Kids should have art & music in schools because it gives young people a platform to showcase their creativity. If it wasn’t for art & music in schools, I know for a fact that you would not see some of the best artists around or hear some of the great music you hear. Creativity is something that is instilled very young and the need to constantly produce that is something that has to be allowed. Again, it comes to the word stifling. Stifling someone’s artistic needs could lead to them becoming quite depressed and unwilling to participate in other subjects. 

Kids need art & music in schools because that could potentially help them with other subjects. I am a firm believer in science/maths/history/ICT going hand in hand with the arts. A quote from one of my favourite TV shows, Modern Family, illustrates my point a little better than I could “

There are dreamers and there are realists in this world, you think the dreamers would find the dreamers and the realists would find the realists, but more often than not the opposite is true. See the dreamers need the realists to keep the dreamers from soaring too close to the sun. And the realists? Well without the dreamers, they might not ever get off the ground”

Now, this is a very corny quote, but it makes a bit of sense with what I am discussing. Sometimes when in a science or a maths class, if someone is stuck on a problem and they can’t figure it out for love nor money then they may need someone with a bit of creativity to unlock the problem. This could work vice versa with a creative person struggling with a problem in a number of subjects and then someone comes along with something logical to help them with that. Being at school, you need to meet a variety of people and see them at what they enjoy doing because otherwise you are not going to know what creativity or the arts are like. Or even becoming so well rounded that you are good at both.

Kids need to have art & music at school because sometimes parents don’t have the time, the finance or the artistic knowledge themselves to help their children. What if parents were quite poor and how to work a couple of jobs in order to help their kids get the life they want for them. This would mean that they would then have no time to be able to teach their children about the arts or music and if they did find time they might then be too tired by that point. Parents have enough to worry about without having the task of dealing with the arts with their children. I know that my parents would not have been able to teach me about art. They are not the most creative people in the world but they supported me the majority of the time. Mostly I think they thought “he is very weird but we will go along with it”. I most definitely think parents need to support their children no matter what they do but to task them with teaching them about arts & music is a burden I think most parents can’t really handle. You gain a lot of influence from your parents and most definitely they will define y

So Mr. Coyne, I dispute you entirely and think that arts & music at school is equally as important at schools as any academic subject because kids need to be allowed creative freedom in order to flourish in school.ou as a person but influencing is a whole different ballgame to teaching. 

And just so you know, I still draw the sun with sunglasses on. 

I am off to try to make my dreams of going to the moon a possibility.

Peace.

x

 

Leave a Reply

